Escape NZ


In the two years we’ve been blogging we’ve consistently said that we’re happier in New Zealand than we were in America. We’ve also tried to emphasize that New Zealand has its pros and cons and isn’t necessarily for everyone. Granted, we like New Zealand, and it shows. If you want to get the other side of the story, and you should, then check out Escape NZ. It’s a forum for people who want to leave New Zealand. It seems to have better quality information than Expat Exposed. Even still, if you’re from Uganda or Compton then a lot of the complaints on Escape NZ will sound so first-world to you that reading them may make you want to move to New Zealand just to trade your current problems for those problems.

I can’t vouch for all the content on Escape NZ, because I haven’t read it all, but from what I’ve seen it looks worth poking around if you’re considering uprooting your life and moving to New Zealand and want to hear the other side of the story.

 

Note: The Escape NZ website has been down for a month or two now. I don’t know if it will ever be available again, but I’ll leave this post up just in case.

3 Responses

  1. Hello there Travis (or Amber?) Thank you for your blog post regarding EscapeNZ.
    No New Zealand is not for everybody; I was born in New Zealand; spent several years in America but when I came back to NZ; I cant explain what happened but something had changed in me and New Zealand no longer felt like home.

    I will post a link to your blog; I find it informative.

  2. I have to say that your book is your view and your experience. Different and often opposite from a lot of other people’s views and experiences. Just another person’s speel. I am not sure that I would want to move to NZ after I have read about some people’s experiences. Where in the first or second world are there loads of websites of a country with immigrants complaining about being unfairly treated? NEW ZEALAND, where else?

    • I believe most of the active users on Escape NZ are Kiwis who want to leave.

Leave a Reply

