How long does it take to get to New Zealand


Travis and I decided Oct. 2008 that moving to NZ was the way to go. I originally thought it would be an easy process, everything I read said that they needed teacher and IT people. If I had the money to spend I should have paid someone to handle everything, but money is always an issue, and I was under the impression that it was going to be easy.
I got together all my papers, had my qualifications reviewed, registered for the NZ teaching council and thought the hard stuff was over. After all, my teaching degree fell into a long-term need group. Why would they make it hard? I don’t know, but they did.
We went the Skilled Migrant route. I wasn’t looking for a temporary solution. If I was going to move to another country it was going to be a permanent thing. However, getting a permanent visa takes a lot more paperwork and a lot more waiting time than a temporary visa. The medical review was especially thorough and a pain in the butt.. Had I started this whole thing again I would have started it at least six months earlier, to attempt to get this done in less then a year is really tough.

Leave a Reply

